Update on HR4040

Well, here‘s some good news on yesterdays issue. It still needs some work, but it was a step in the right direction!

3 Comments on “Update on HR4040”

  1. Kirsten says:

    Thanks for posting the update. I drafted my letter to our elected representatives last night, but I guess I’ll need to make a few edits before I send it now that the CPSC has exempted resale businesses.

  2. http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml09/09086.html

    I read this, it sounds sort of doublethink to me. Correct me if I have misread, but it sounds like to sell at resale/thrift/ebay/etc, there won’t be a requirement to prove compliance by testing, but….offending products are still not allowed to be sold there and those places can be punished for selling them. Meaning the resale shop can still get in trouble if they sell something untested and it doesn’t meet the regulations. So comforting! I guess, check with your favorite resale shop on what they will do, I could imagine that some will eventually stop taking donations of children’s stuff if it just seems to risky…..

    On the other hand, if you know how to do lead testing cheaply, I could see a huge pay day in your future :)

  3. that was erik. ambre has never read 1984 :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.