Flop or Fantastic?

My first cookbook I’m sharing from is The Ex-Boyfriend Cook Book by Erin Ergenbright and Thisbe Nissen.

This is a storybook cookbook where each recipe is accompanied by an anecdote on the ex-b that went with it. These ladies can sure tell a tale! I had a hard time putting it down it was so amusing!

I decided to try the recipe for Wesley Kresbaugh’s Cottage Cheese Pancakes on page 36 as my neighbor had cleaned out her fridge and given me her cottage cheese the day before. It’s a straight forward enough recipe calling for 3 eggs, 1 c. cottage cheese, 2 Tble. oil, 1/4 c. flour, and 1/4 tsp. salt. You give the eggs a whirl in your food processor, add the cottage cheese and whirl that too, then whirl what’s left in too. Cook on a hot griddle and serve.

Nice and easy, right? sigh… I started by using whole wheat flour. No prob. I don’t have a food processor so I used my blender. No biggie. I heat my griddle and as I’m getting ready to pour the first one on my handsome hubby walks through the door and into the kitchen. Great! “What’s for dinner?” asks he. “Cottage cheese pancakes” I answer with a smile. “Oh.” says he with a scowl. At this point with a sinking heart I am reminded that my husband does not like cottage cheese. “Oh, well, at least they’re pancakes and are sweet and won’t taste like cottage cheese,” he tosses over his shoulder as he wanders into the  living room.

Let’s review, shall we? Eggs, cottage cheese, oil, flour, salt. Something sweet? Nope. I quickly scanned the kitchen for a remedy as my bland first pancake rested goldenly on the griddle. Bananas and cinnamon quickly get blended into the mix in an attempt to rectify the situation. I pour on the second pancake. Erik and the baby eat the first bland, non-sweetened pancake and declare it good as the second pancakes scorches itself to the pan. ARG! burnt cake

After another attempt on the pan (also burnt to a crisp) I turn the oven on and decide to bake the durned thing. baked pancake

Thirty minutes later, I removed the flat cake from the oven, sliced some bananas on top of it and served it to the eagerly awaiting (and starving) family.banana cottage cheese pancakes

At this point, I don’t think any of us cared how it tasted as long as we could finally eat, but mercifully it was good. I wouldn’t even mind making it again in the oven although I might double the batch then to make it a little thicker.

4 Comments on “Flop or Fantastic?”

  1. […] tagged reluctantOwn a WordPress blog? Make monetization easier with the WP Affiliate Pro plugin. Flop or Fantastic? saved by 3 others     extremejay1 bookmarked on 06/05/08 | […]

  2. […] Go to the author’s original blog: Flop or Fantastic? […]

  3. Dana says:

    Did you ever read our copy of The Mafia Cookbook? That is another great cookbook that has wonderful, exciting stories attached to each recipe.

  4. I didn’t get a chance to! I think you had just gotten it and were hogging all the read time! just kidding. I do remember you making something from it though and we all thought it was a winner… I’ll have to see if the library has that one next month. Thanks for reminding me!


Leave a Reply

