Smooth (or not so smooth!) Smoothies

**I spent ten minutes trying to get this picture to flip and have given up. Sorry!**

So we had our first attempt at green smoothies the other night. I read about these over at Robyn’s blog on Green Smoothie Girl and had wanted to give them a try. I had some leftover spinach to use up but all in all it really was mostly fruit. It was yummy though! The spinach pieces were still a little bigger than I think I would like on a regular basis, but for our 26 year old blender, I thought it all right. The little dingo liked it a lot too which is great since she won’t eat spinach or salad-ish stuff otherwise. Just asparagus!  We will definitely be making more of these in the future and I am more sure than ever that I want to be saving up for a Blend-Tec blender. Will it blend? You betcha!

6 Comments on “Smooth (or not so smooth!) Smoothies”

  1. Alicia M says:

    I have been doing green smoothies lately too! I started out with smaller amounts of spinach, but lately have been increasing so that the color is actually green. It doesn’t seem to affect the taste much- they still taste like fruit smoothies! I’m really excited because I have a hard time using up a bag of spinach before it goes bad, but throwing it in smoothies I have had no problem with spoiled spinach! Now I need to venture out and use some different greens. This will probably be a good way to use up some of your CSA goods :)

  2. Sarah says:

    We just got a Magic Bullet and already today I have had two smoothies! Yum. :) So far we just done fruit. but I might have to add in some veggies soon.

  3. April says:

    I bought a Juiceman Jr. about 6-7 years ago and LOVE it! I don’t use it that often, but when I do it’s awesome. Granted w/ your blender you are getting the entire veggie and w/ the juicer you are only getting the juice, but from what I’ve read there is some real health value to juices. Especially juices that are not pasturized. I’ve read that carrot juice has a lot of special qualities in it. The juiceman jr. about 60-70$ and still continues to score extremely high in reviews and ratings. Good luck!

  4. Sarah, I’m glad the magic bullet that you bought for your DAUGHTER is serving you so well! Ha, ha!
    April, I just got a juicer from my next door neighbor and can’t wait to try it. I think I’m going to have to break the bank and buy a bag of carrots and give it a spin next week!

  5. April says:

    Yeah, keep in mind it takes a whole pound of carrots to make 8oz of juice! But so well worth it-carrot juice is actually super yummy!

  6. April says:

    I made Anne a “special shake” this morning (that’s what we call it when Mommy is just too lazy to do mauch else for breakfast) and on a whim I decided to add some spinach to it. Thanks so much for the idea! It blended up very well and she, of course, had no clue there was spinach in there. She drank about half of it, which is so great that she got some veggie in this AM!


Leave a Reply

