Milk and Honey Oat Bread

Sorry for the lack of interesting posts lately! We’ve been enjoying family vacation which included an eleven hour drive out to Indiana and an even longer drive home. We were blessed and only had a minor flooding related detour on the way back that put us less than ten minutes out of our way. Praise the Lord.

So far, since Friday, we have eaten three loaves of my milk and honey oat bread and I don’t see us slowing down any time soon! Here’s the recipe for you to enjoy:

1 cup plus 1 Tablespoon Milk

3 Tablespoons Honey

3 Tablespoons Coconut Oil

1/2 C. Oat Flour

2 1/2 C. All Purpose Unbleached Flour

2 Tablespoons Gluten

1 1/2 tsp. Sea Salt

2 tsp Instant Yeast

Add the first three ingredients to your bread machine. Add the next four in order listed keeping the salt to the outer edges.

Make a small hole (think volcano) in the flour mixture and put the yeast there. Bake according to your bread machines directions. I use the Whole Wheat Large Rapid setting. Savor the deliciousness that will ensue when the warm bread is spread with butter and devoured. Yum.

yummy

Okay, so here are all my asides on the above recipe.

I use whole milk and Hodgson Mill vital wheat gluten. Don’t feel like you need to use raw honey as you will be baking this and the honey will no longer be raw anyway. Go ahead and use the cheaper stuff!

Coconut oil is liquid at room temp and hardens when it gets cold ie. when added to something like say, milk! I think it’s pretty cool to watch the milk slosh around under the oil. But then again, I’m a bit of a dork.

milk coconut oil honey

5 Comments on “Milk and Honey Oat Bread”

  1. Amy says:

    Have you tried using any Whole Wheat flour instead of all white flour?

    When I lived in Iowa I got my wheat gluten from Stringtown in Kalona. Fun trip to the store and WAY cheaper than buying the little box at the store.

    Now that I’m not living near Stringtown and haven’t found a bulk place like that here, I ended up buying a 5 pound box of gluten! I’m set for awhile.

  2. Blakely says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you were on vacation and not out of commission because of flooding!! This bread sounds yummy. I’ll definitely try it out once we get moved and unpacked!!

  3. Amy, I had tried another recipe with ww flour and it was a complete flop so this was the safe route to rebuild my self confidence. :) I am still planning to tinker around with ww though in the future.
    Blakely, we’re so blessed not to have been hit here at the the condo or the house I own in IC with water. God is good. Let me know when you get unpacked and I’ll remind you to make bread!

  4. Blakely says:

    We made this bread yesterday, substituting 1/2 cup wheat germ for 1/2 cup of the flour. It was yummy!! Thanks for the recipe!!

  5. So glad to hear it worked out for you guys!


Leave a Reply

