Cooks Books Reviewed Take 1

1,000 Lowfat Recipes

This is my current favorite cookbook for sure! As I believe I may have mentioned before, we love saturated fats around here and aren’t really looking to use fractionated ingredients (skim milk, lowfat sour cream, etc.) so we just re-adjust recipes like that back to their full fat glory! The main way this book stays “lowfat” though, my personal favorite, is by cooking with LOTS of vegetables. I went through and marked all the recipes I wanted to try. I probably marked 90%. Not to shabby out of 1,000! This week I’ve made the Carrot Cookies twice, the Banana Cookies, and the Cocoa Cookies. Awesome cookies using whole wheat flour and honey. We’ve been eating the first two as breakfast truth be told. They are that good for you! The book also has over fifteen salad dressings, eleven pasta salads, nine non-lettuce veggie salads, nine slaws, eight tomato salads, six cucumber salads, thirteen green salads, and eight potato salads. That’s just in the Salad chapter! Here is the table of contents:

Intro pg 1-17

Small Bites and Finger Foods pg 20-51

Salads pg 52-107

Soups pg 108-151

Entrees: Poultry and meat pg 152-218

Entrees: Fish and Shellfish pg 219-263

Entrees: Vegetarian pg 264-307

Vegetables pg 308-374

Pastas, Grains, and Beans pg 375-415

Casual Meals pg 416-445

Breakfasts pg 446-476

Yeast Breads, Quick Breads, and Muffins pg 477-507

Desserts pg 508-580

Sauces, Salsas, Pantry Staples, and Beverages pg 581-611

BUY THIS BOOK!!! YOU WON’T REGRET IT!!!

It can be purchased used on Amazon starting at $3.71.

4 Comments on “Cooks Books Reviewed Take 1”

  1. April says:

    Thanks! I’ll have to see if my library has this one!

  2. If it doesn’t, I doubt four bucks will break the bank. :) I’ll be reviewing more books over the next few weeks.

  3. April says:

    Well…I was at the used book store and saw this for $5 and figured it was pretty providential. (Is that the right spelling?) Anyway, got it and will have to look through it and try some stuff out. Thanks again!

  4. I would have to go with providence on this one. :)
    Seriously though, go straight to the cookie section!


Leave a Reply

