Cooks Books Reviewed Take 2

I have a friend, Dana, who always gives the most perfect gifts. For example, Dana knew my great love of sugar cereals and my ability to eat them morning, noon, and night while living with her family. As a gift for my bridal shower, I received a pyramid of cereal boxes about my height all individually wrapped. She also blessed us with two large bowls because she had in her great wisdom realized that the ones I had registered for would in no way hold enough cereal to satisfy me! Taking this instance and all the other creative and insightful gifts I have observed her bestow on others I wish I had trusted her prescience when it came to our wedding gift. She and her family gave us the instant cook.

It is a lovely hardcover book with beautiful photos of what appeared to me to be lofty dishes. Every few months I would get the book out and look at the pictures and sigh because we “didn’t cook that way” in my mind. Oh, I wanted to, believe me! But “Rack of Lamb on Bed of Figs and Fennel seemed a bit hoity toity for my hamburger helper and totinos loving man. The food looked delicious and elegant, and that was almost enough to banish the book into…storage(!)… Fortunately, I decided to give it one more read-through, and was thrilled to find that the recipes lined up with our new nutritional goals.  Tonight, I made the recipe “green pea and mint soup” and fell truly, madly, deeply in love.  Another trophy in the case for Dana!

Here’s the skinny:

  • 3 cups, frozen green peas
  • 2 large potatoes, chopped
  • 6 cups, chicken stock/broth
  • 1/2 cup (4 fl oz) cream (I used heavy whipping cream)
  • 1 T chopped mint
  • sea salt, cracked pepper
  • pepper sour cream (I skipped this)
  • 1/2 cup (4 fl oz) sour cream

Throw peas, broth, and potatoes in a pan, bring to a boil over medium high heat.  When it reaches a boil, cover and cook until potatoes are done, approximately 10 minutes.  Blend soup in blender until almost smooth.  A few chunks only add to the delight.*  Pour back in pan and add cream, mint, salt, and pepper.  Heat over medium until you have your act together and managed to throw dishes on the table.  Cups optional.  The recipe recommended serving with pepper sour cream but I was too forgetful, and personally didn’t feel the soup was lacking anything.  Erik thought it was lacking Hamburger Helper, but he admitted that doesn’t really count.

*This post was dictated to Erik as Ambre tended to their teething barracuda, any (all) editorial liberty taken is because of this. I was only able to prevent the sentence “A few chunks only add to the delight” from being revised to “Slightly chunky is how we roll around here.” Do you see what I (am so blessed!) have to deal with?

.ambre.

Leave a Reply

