Heavy News…

I’m sure a lot of you have seen this map from Calorie Lab already but I thought I’d post it here in case you haven’t. Personally, I’m a little surprised that a state full of farmers is one of the fattest (Iowa), but then again, I’ve seen some farmers wives lately that look like they must just be in their home all day eating their own cooking. Colorado is the lightest because my friend Amanda just moved there. Actually, she’s probably the one that skewed the averages! Iowa would have beat out Colorado if she and Amy hadn’t moved! California and New York were a little heavier then I would have guessed as well. It would be interesting to see the results for individual cities!

What surprised you on this map?

7 Comments on “Heavy News…”

  1. Sarah says:

    I will say I am a little surprised that Texas isn’t higher on the list. I mean, everything really is BIGGER in Texas. Butts and all. And I will agree that Iowa would have beaten Colorado had Amanda not moved.

  2. Amanda says:

    I don’t know if much surprised me about that map. I’ll tell you, the status of the southern states didn’t surprise me at all. That southern fried chicken and gravy…..

    But I will tell you, I don’t think it was me that skewed the stats on Colorado, I think it was the city of Boulder. I’m pretty sure I’m the fattest person in this city.

  3. April says:

    I can’t see the map for some reason-but obviously i’m the only one. can you email it to me?

  4. April says:

    I think I mostly agree. The states that are lower seem like they naturally would promote healthy activities. Skiing and stuff in colorado, etc. The southern states make sense too. Like amanda said w/ the gravy and stuff.

  5. Cris says:

    I’m surprised you’re surprised about Iowa. We wave our Bread Basket of the US flag kind of proudly. We’re also counting on the pendulum – eventually, carbs’ll be a delicacy and we’ll have ALLLL of them. We’ll make a fortune. :)

    Otherwise, I’m pretty surprised about Montana.

  6. Alicia S. says:

    Ok I have it all figured out. Here is a map of all the Hardee’s locations in the US.

    Link if my html doesn’t work: http://cke.know-where.com/hardees/cgi/rollover?mapid=US&ht=256&wd=400&mapGif=Icon/US.gif

  7. I like the way you think, Alicia!
    Cris, I agree on the pendulum of carb consumption. I can’t wait for the rest of the country to embrace them as I have!


Leave a Reply

