Go to Sleep!

Here are some ideas for people looking for natural ways to treat insomnia:

  1. Avoid sweets containing sugar.
  2. Exercise at night. It’s a stress buster as it increases blood flow. Also, the endorphins released will make you feel happier and calmer.
  3. Eat magnesium-rich foods (legumes and seeds, dark leafy green veggies, wheat bran, almonds, brewer’s yeast, whole grains).
  4. Don’t watch tv at night. It stimulates your mind and causes you to remain alert.
  5. Try reading a book. It makes your eyes tired leading to a feeling of tiredness.
  6. Eat foods high in carbs right before bed as this can increase the production of serotonin.
  7. Follow a routine.

8. Avoid caffeine.

9. Pray! This is what my Mom always recommended. It always seems to calm my mind and put me to    sleep!

3 Comments on “Go to Sleep!”

  1. April says:

    Don’t hang out in your bed except to sleep.

    Have a strict set bedtime that you don’t deviate from for more than 30 minutes, even on the weekends or nights you go out.

  2. Alicia M says:

    That last one works for me every time. I tend to read my bible before bed, but I know that if I really want to pray, I cannot close my eyes. Once I close my eyes, I’m out right in the middle of a prayer. Which is kind of funny when you think about it, because who else could you talk to and fall asleep right in the middle of the conversation and they won’t be offended? :-)

  3. Alicia S. says:

    So TV stimulates your mind too much, but reading a book only makes your eyes sleepy? Hmmmm…. I DISAGREE WITH THESE LIES.


Leave a Reply

