Physical Strength

I did it. I dragged my sorry butt out of bed at 6:30 a.m. to go running with Sarah yesterday. Yes, you heard me: to run.

In case this doesn’t sound like a great accomplishment to you let me tell you about the last time I ran further then down the driveway to stop the FedEx guy… Um, there isn’t a time.

In high school, for P.E., I was supposed to run with my dad. Nah. I would just walk and pace him while he ran 13 minute miles. That’s what long legs are there for, right?

I’ve always envied runners. Well, most of them anyway. I usually attribute running with being in fabulous shape and able to take on the world. Living in a college town though, I’ve noticed more and more people don’t quite fit that stereotype. For example, the group of girls who started from the same place as us yesterday are training for a marathon and were running 13 miles yesterday. They were fast! They has great legs! They had endurance! They had beer bellies. Yep. Beer bellies. That is not my personal ideal for physical perfection. Call me crazy.

Either way, we’re running. We will one day be able to run further than to the corner. We will run and not grow weary. We will walk and not grow faint. We will run a 5K. Then we will run at least a half marathon before turning forty and then we will rest at a spa (if Erik and Jonathan see this that last part is a joke, sweeties. If you’re a fellow woman, you know the truth!)

My body burns. Yet I persevere. Who’s with me?!?

Confession: While writing this, I was stuffing my face with mini chocolate chips. sigh.

9 Comments on “Physical Strength”

  1. Leslie says:

    You go!!!! You can do it!!! You can do all things thru Christ who Strengthens you. I never thought I would run a 5K.. but hey… I believe if I can do it.. anyone can!!! YOU CAN DO IT!! :) GREAT JOB!

  2. Sarah says:

    I am so proud of us! And hey, if those girls can run with beer bellies, than we can run with post-baby bellies! Here’s to having a good enough body to run without a shirt! :)

    P.S. I ate like 40 million Back to Nature cookies this afternoon. I reasoned it out since they are “good” cookies.

  3. Amy says:

    Congrats on running! I love it and so much enjoy the time that I have to do it. I’m training for my 4th half marathon in the span of 13 months! My husband is out of town for a couple of days and I just realized that I’m going to have to be very creative in getting my run in tomorrow. My little babies may have to get pulled out of bed early and hang out on the bleachers at the track in the morning! My focus is on getting faster and it’s definitely been a challenge!

  4. Dana says:

    Here, here! You two women go, go, go!

  5. Thanks for all the encouragement everyone!
    Sarah, I hear you on the BtN cookies. I ate a box in one evening once. Erik won’t let me forget it! They’re dangerous. :)

  6. Amanda Tripp says:

    Holy cow. I think the only mental image that would be better is if Laura Hudson was running with you. I think you two are the skinniest girls I know….that don’t exercise.

    Wanna know something fun…my spine is kind of fun now. But not as fun as yours.

  7. Autumn says:

    It’s so exciting to see everyone taking up running! I started back in January with the goal of running a 5K (which I made in April–yay!). I don’t know if I’ll push on to the 1/2 marathon or not. I really enjoyed all the lessons God taught me about myself through running. 1) I need to take my thoughts captive because I do a LOT of negative self talk (you’re not going to make it, you’re too slow, etc). 2) I am infinitely impatient with myself (it was so hard to increase my mileage and speed SLOWLY). 3) God meets me in each step (I just have to make the decision to take it!). Anyway, keep up the good work!

  8. congrats, Autumn, on your 5K! that’s awesome! thanks for sharing what God’s been teaching you through the process. :)

  9. Amanda, I saw Dana’s spine the on Sunday and was thinking “Amanda should see this!” I’m glad yours is getting to a place of great funness! Erik just touched mine and said “this is for Amanda!” :)


Leave a Reply

