Are You Kidding Me?

Lately I’ve been seeing a LOT of commercials on TV for the new Dairy Queen Thin Mint Cookie Blizzard. Every time it’s come on I’ve sighed and reminded myself that I’d rather eat my frozen raw coconut macaroons (more on these bad boys later!) then pour High Fructose Corn Syrup poison into my temple (I’m very dramatic when talking to myself). Well, I just read an amazing (and short) article that has strengthened my resolve exponentially!

The afore mentioned Blizzard? Yeah, that sucker weighs a whole pound and comes with a 1,000 calorie price tag. No Way! Yes, way. Read the article folks. It’s amazing what we’ll put in our bodies out of ignorance, unaware of the consequences… sigh…

6 Comments on “Are You Kidding Me?”

  1. Sarah says:

    Hmmm…. just what I need to wash down my 1,420 calorie (107 grams of fat!!) Thickburger from Hardee’s. I just love me some heart disease soaked in diabetes. Yummy.

  2. Blakely says:

    Remember the candy cane pie from VI?? I remember asking people if they really, really wanted to know before giving them the nutritional info on it!! We got our Kitchen Aid Ice Cream Maker Attachment last night and are going to make our first batch tonight. That should keep us from a 1 pound, 1,000 Calorie Thin Mint Blizzard.

    I read an article theorizing a link between increasing obesity and the use of high fructose corn syrup. I’ve been trying to cut it out of my diet, but it’s in everything!! I think I’ve only found a handful of breads that don’t have it – and as the 3rd or 4th highest ingredient too!! Gross!!

  3. April says:

    Oh…but it looks so good…

  4. Kelsey says:

    I’ve been lusting after this very blizzard since I first saw the commercials. It’s definitely diminished my desire to devour a whole one myself, but I still think I want one bite. I don’t think my temple is as holy as yours…

  5. Sarah- That’s really funny cause when I told Erik about this the thickburger was the first thing he mentioned! Great minds think alike, huh?
    Blakely- I don’t even want to think about those pies, their content, or how many of them I ate! Uggh! I hear you also on the “it’s in everything” complaint. We had to dispose of most of our condiments too. Having a bread machine should be helping from that angle. Is it?
    April and Kelsey- Yes, it looks good. As does sin and we know where that one leads, don’t we!
    For the record that last comment was SOOOOOOOO a joke. I am in no way really comparing the two and won’t judge anyone for eating the blizzard of death. In fact, I just might envy your ability to separate your knowlegdge from your desires! I’d envy you for one minute. Then I’d go eat a macaroon of bliss and be fine. :)

  6. Alicia M says:

    This is a prime example of why there’s a lot of people pushing for calorie labeling on menus. Seriously, even I probably wouldn’t have guessed the calorie level to be quite that high, and I am usually pretty accurate estimating the calories of most foods (since it’s kind of my job).
    I don’t know though, I think the sad thing would be how many people would still order it and devour the whole thing (on a regular basis) even with the calories posted right in front of their face.


Leave a Reply

