“There’s No Time To Change Your Mind…”

This has been a tough month. We lost our good friend Britt, and then last week one of my favorite Great-Aunts passed away. She was 94, but I still wasn’t expecting it. We’re naming our next daughter after her and I was hoping she would be around for it. She was such a beautiful lady, and so generous too! Crazy generous. SO generous that you couldn’t admire anything she owned aloud. If you did, she’d give it to you! I learned this lesson when I was thirteen and told her that I thought her ring was lovely. She immediately removed it and gave it to me with the apology that it was just a coctail ring and that all her jewelry of real value had already been given to her grandchildren! The ring has since tarnished, but it is still of great value to me.

At the funeral I got to talk to some of my Mother’s cousins. I thinik my Mom’s cousins are great. They are funny and grew up in towns neighboring my own so we visited often. Pat and his wife Sharon were some of my favorites to see. As a kid I was quite impressed by their backyard minagere. They even had a peacock! Pat was such a nice guy and went out of his way to talk with me at the funeral.

Saturday night, Pat passed away in his sleep from a brain aneurysm. Unfortunately, we won’t be able to make it to the funeral, but even worse, my parents are in Bermuda so neither will they. *sigh* My Mom’s going to be so sad to get the news when she returns.

Don’t put off any good til tomorrow that you should do today.

2 Comments on ““There’s No Time To Change Your Mind…””

  1. Amanda says:

    Man, friend. That stinks. I’m so sorry to hear that. Which Great-Aunt was it? I’m guessing I met her at your grandparents’ anniversary party….and I’m picturing someone in my mind that I’m guessing is the one….but I can’t remember her name.

    Maybe you aren’t going to answer that question on your blog because your baby name is going to be a secret….?

  2. Sarah says:

    Sorry friend. That does stink. Let me know if I can do anything for you.


Leave a Reply

