Today Was Brought to You By the Color Green

Erik’s parents came to visit last Saturday and kathy brought me some of her garden bounty. We received some yellow squash, zuchini, a squash she believes to be a freak marriage of the afore mentioned others, some cukes, and these beautiful banana peppers!

yummy banana peppers!

yummy banana peppers!

I made a guacsalsa for dinner the other night (avocado, tomato, onion, lime juice, salt and these bad boys!) and if Inara hadn’t been sitting on me and Erik hadn’t been leaning on me and the bowl wasn’t on my lap I hadn’t been too lazy to get up of the couch I would have added two more of these peppers they were that good! We had company over for dinner last nigh and as I was filling a bag of leftover goodies for them to take home with them I threw three banana peppers in the bag and instantly had givers remorse and had to palm one back out! I’m looking into pickling the few I have left so as to draw out the enjoyment. I can’t find any recipes for doing so with just seven peppers (five after I give Sarah the two I promised her!). All the recipes I’ve found are for like ten quarts! I wanna see those peoples gardens! Any ideas or direction to steer me, friends? Thanks!

Job 8:11-13

11“Can the papyrus grow up without a marsh?
Can the rushes grow without water?
12“While it is still green and not cut down,
Yet it withers before any other plant.
13“So are the paths of all who forget God;
And the hope of the godless will perish…

On a more upbeat note, I shall now share with you my new favorite wine. As most of you who know me know, I am more of a hard liqueur girl. I don’t mind a good blush wine now and then, but I’d really just prefer a martini. My dear husband though really enjoys trying new wines so we are steadily drinking through any and all we can find for under $15 a bottle. Actually, since I took over the budget and have started watching our money spin down the drain every month we’ve only been drinking wine that sets us back less then ten dollars. Enter the Bandit. I was drawn to this fellow like a moth to a light because he was packaged in one of my favorite colors: split pea soup green. Then, taking into account the fact that it was “96% wine, 4% packaging made largly of renewable resources. Rock on! Did I mention it was only $6.99 at NewPi? Here are the reviews:

“that’s amazing” -J

“mmm, yeah, that’s good stuff!” -E

“I could get drunk on this stuff!” -M

“Yeah, I like this, and I don’t generally like wine.” -A (me, obviously)

So, yeah, if you’re looking for a nice, white, Pinot Grigio in a liter bottle this is the wine for you.

You’re welcome.

Bandit

Bandit

5 Comments on “Today Was Brought to You By the Color Green”

  1. Alicia S. says:

    That’s my favorite wine! Bonus: it’s a 1L box, whereas most bottles are .75L. If you poke around online, it gets a lot of favorable reviews.

  2. Blakely says:

    We’ll have to try this sometime. Aaron also loves trying out different wines, but we use the envelope budgeting system, and his envelope isn’t “big enough” for him to get decent wine very often.

  3. Sarah says:

    Have you tried House Wine? It’s one of my favs.

    Oh, and for a minute my heart sank when you were talking about your peppers and taking one back and not wanting to give it up, because I thought “Oh no! What about mine?!?” But, being the good friend you are, you obviously didn’t forget me. Thank you. ;)

  4. April says:

    What does Nara think of the wine? JK…Ahh…my vice is good beer, how I miss it so…

  5. Nara thinks she loves the wine! She kept trying to grab my glass to try it, but I wouldn’t let her. She was not pleased!
    I have tried House wine, Sarah, but I’m just not a big red wine sort of gal.
    Blakely, you should try to find some of this stuff for Aaron. Alicia has good taste and we both think it’s great!


Leave a Reply

