For Future Yumminess

I love chili. I read somewhere recently that in Texas chili has no beans in it cause, hello!, there is no “bean” in “chili”. That sounds like my cup of tea (or bowl of chili)!

The other night I decided I needed to break the seal on a cookbook I’ve owned unused for at least three years. Seeing as I had all the ingredients on hand for the Sour Cream Polenta Bread I decided to throw a loaf together. The bread was very good with butter right out of the oven, but pretty dry the next day. However, I do believe that it would have been an amazing addition to a hot bowl of chili. As soon as I perfect cooking beans from dry, I’m going to make this bread again. Don’t plan on interrupting me in my future moment of bliss. Thanks.

Here’s my adaptation of the Sour Cream Polenta Bread.

  • 1 1/2 c. fine polenta (cornmeal)
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 Tbl. agave
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used whole)
  • 1 1/4 c. sour cream
  • 2 Tbl. coconut oil (any oil you have on hand would be fine)
  • poppy seeds to cover the top of the loaf

Preheat oven to 400F. Grease Loaf pan.

Combine first six ingredients in a large bowl.

Combine next four ingredients. Whisk together and add to dry mixture. Mix wet and dry ingredients just long enough to combine evenly (like you would do with muffins).

Pour batter into greased pan and sprinkle top with poppy seeds.

Bake for 30 minutes at 400F. After the 30 minutes turn oven down to 350F and bake for another 15 minutes or so. Until the loaf is a golden color.

Enjoy!

note: If you are using coconut oil remember that the ingredients you add it to must be at least room temp! Personally, I cheated and warmed my milk and sour cream in the microwave and my egg in a glass of warm water.

Leave a Reply

