Happy Green Smoothie Day!

The “powers that be” have declared today Green Smoothie Day. Hooray!

In honor of green smoothies and those who drink them, we raise our glass!

In honor of GSDay, I will share my best yet green smoothie tip: how to avoid kale chunks in your smoothie.

I don’t like to drink chunks of green in my drinks. If I wanted green chunks I’d eat a salad. Who’s with me?!? So what’s one to do about kale? You know kale: nice leafy fellow with a spine strong as a tree trunk. I didn’t want to waste any part of my (not cheap) purchase so I grabbed my trusty kitchen buddy and waged war.

Ambre's "Girly Hammer"

Ambre's "Girly Hammer"

Lay a paper towel on top of you kale and hammer out the stalk flat. It take all of five seconds and you tongue and blender will thank you!

Here is a green smoothie I made recently:

Awww, crap. The Sideways photo monster has struck again. Bother.

It’s not quite a green smoothie recipe per say, but I’ll tell you what all I threw in there!

  • Kale
  • Avocado
  • Cucumber
  • Banana
  • Strawberries
  • Raspberries
  • Kelp Powder
  • Cinnamon
  • Blueberries
  • a little milk

All I can say is Yum! I think I’m going to make a banana split green smoothie today. How about you?

What’s in your Green Smoothie today?

2 Comments on “Happy Green Smoothie Day!”

  1. April says:

    No green smoothies for us the past month as morning sickness dictates what I eat and don’t eat but since it’s getting better only a matter of time…

    My tip for no chunky green parts is to rip your kale up, add only your liquid to the bottom of the blender then add about 1/4 of your kale. Turn it on. That first part takes a few seconds to get going but once it does and the kale is obliterated, keep the blender running and continue to add about 1/4 of your greens at a time. Once they are all blended up into liquid emerald, then you can add the rest of your fruit and you have a chunk-free green smoothie!

  2. Summer says:

    Sounds yummy! I’ve been very shy about adding a lot to my smoothies, sticking to more basic recipes. You’re a lot braver than I am!


Leave a Reply

