Food is Not the Nucleus of My Life

    I read an article about someones journey into raw foods and there was a quote I walked away with by a man who called himself Nature Love. I know, I know, but I really felt what he said resonate within me. About legalism in diets he shared,

    “Food isn’t my focus, it’s my nourishment.”

    I feel that was a good reminder for me as I can occasionally become consumed by things that are of value, but in the end will burn.

Growing up, my Mom would end every meal time prayer with “and bless this food to the nourishment of our body and protect us from evil.” It’s a comforting prayer and a blessing on the food partakers at the same time.

    Proverbs 3:7-9 (New International Version)

    7 Do not be wise in your own eyes;

    fear the LORD and shun evil.

    8 This will bring health to your body

    and nourishment to your bones.

    9 Honor the LORD with your wealth,

    with the firstfruits of all your crops;

3 Comments on “Food is Not the Nucleus of My Life”

  1. Sarah says:

    I grew up saying (and still do say) at the end of my mealtime prayers “bless this food to our bodies and take sickness from our midst.”

  2. erik says:

    ahem….according to bush it’s “nuculus” :)

  3. Wysteria says:

    I’ve never heard of ending a meal with prayer before. We always said the “bless this food to our bodies” as part of our pre-meal prayer. It’s kind of funny when you sit down to fast food or some other low nutrition meal. You’re really kind of praying for a miracle! :)


Leave a Reply

