Breakfast for Dinner (in a non-offensive way)

What a beautiful morning!

view from my window right now

view from my window right now

There’s not a cloud in the sky , the sun is shining bright and the air is still. I believe they refer to this as “the calm before the storm”. This evening it’s suppose to thunder sleet, freeze itself with with up to a quarter inch of ice and then peacefully snow down up to eight inches. Glorious! If you live even fifteen miles south of me you can expect more icee, less snowee. Bummer, huh?

This week all I seem to want to eat is warm comfort foods. If Erik was game, we’d be living on farina and granola (note to self: google “whole wheat farina” and see if that cookbook was just yanking your chain), but he’s not, so we’re not. Instead we’ve had to branch out to add in breakfast rice pudding.

img_11041

It’s such an easy meal really. You make a pot of rice according to the directions on the bag. You then add cinnamon, ginger, agave, and raisins to taste and top it off with a swirl of milk. Delicious! I made it for dinner last night and shall be warming the leftovers up for breakfast this morning.

img_1120

4 Comments on “Breakfast for Dinner (in a non-offensive way)”

  1. Blakely says:

    Could you maybe explain what way Breakfast for Dinner is offensive?? I’m confused…

  2. Erik has decided that farina is for sure an a.m. meal and my friend Sarah strongly feels that breakfast should NOT be served as dinner. Bummer, huh?

  3. MamaMort says:

    Huh. I’ve been loving breakfast foods lately and considered having ‘Breakfast for Dinner’ a couple times, because the weekends are the only time I actually have time to eat a good, hearty breakfast. I can’t comment on farina though, because I have no idea what it is!!

  4. […] went on my investigation for whole wheat farina as I said I would here and found that it can be purchased for a minimum of $1.69/lb. for the organic variety.  Sickening. […]


Leave a Reply

