For Your Information…

Good News! The FDA has finally approved stevia! All I can say is it’s about time.

Diabetics of the world rejoice! (and all others trying to cut out refined sugars)

4 Comments on “For Your Information…”

  1. Leslie says:

    intresting.. i wonder how many companys will begin to experment with it.

  2. Alicia M says:

    I’m not super thrilled about Stevia yet. The main reason it’s gotten pushed through so quickly is because of push from big companies like Cargill and Pepsi are desperately wanting a “natural” alternative. Natural doesn’t necessarily equate to safe, especially when we consider that companies are now likely to start using it in more and more foods, giving people a greater overall exposure. And with early studies showing possible DNA mutations, I’m hesistant. Not that I’m crazy about other alternatives, but probably best to avoid these types foods altogether. This isn’t the FDA answering consumer demands, this is the FDA answering big business demands and multiple companies have stevia sweetened beverages ready to go out even next week. It’s all about money.
    http://www.cspinet.org/new/200812152.html

  3. Alicia M says:

    Just to clarify- I am ok with my patients that want to use Stevia as a sweetener in moderate amounts. My concern is safety for my patients who would switch to Stevia-sweetened diet sodas. No joke, it’s not uncommon for me to have patients who drink 2 liters or more every day. That’s a concern no matter if it’s stevia or HFCS or aspartame or even pure cane sugar.

  4. Personally, I don’t put much stock in the FDA and their opinions in general. I think they just respond to the highest bidder in general. As far as Stevia goes, it’s been being used for centuries by people familiar with herbs and their properties with no documented issues. As with anything and everything natural I believe it should be used in moderation. Even too many salads can cause harm! I’m with you on thinking your patients should cut back on the diet soda period, but again even there, where’s the caffeine moderation?


Leave a Reply

